Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

New To Mac

Is this normal for a Mac to use this much RAM? I am brand new to Mac so I do not have much experience with it. When I use Xcode along with Safari it goes down to under 100MB of free RAM.

I have a Windows 7 computer that also has 4GB of RAM and only goes above 2GB when I am running VMWare and that is with 8 chrome tabs. In safari in this screenshot I have 5 open. I am comparing to 7 and am curious if it' normal, thanks.

User uploaded file

MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.7.4), Mid 2012

Posted on Jul 10, 2012 3:13 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jul 10, 2012 3:19 PM

Yes, this is normal. OS X requires 2 GBs leaving you with 2 GBs for applications and other software. You might consider installing more RAM. However, the memory management system is unlikely to ever truly run out of memory unless you run far too many applications concurrently.

About OS X Memory Management and Usage

Reading system memory usage in Activity Monitor

Memory Management in Mac OS X

Performance Guidelines- Memory Management in Mac OS X

A detailed look at memory usage in OS X

Understanding top output in the Terminal