Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

VMware Fusion v Parallels and a partition?

I came across this thread while searching for info on which to base a decision to either upgrade Fusion or switch to Parallels, plus whether to install Win7 on a Boot Camp partition, which I'm not using now.

I am a day stocks trader, so I'm looking for responsiveness when using my PC trading software (unfortunately not available for Mac). Fusion 2 running Win 7 is sluggish, in spite of 8GB memory and plenty of dedicated virtual memory. The question is: Would you recommend Parallels above Fusion for my use as you do for gamers? I'm not a gamer, but I'm guessing their needs are not unlike mine---speed and RAM being key. Would you comment, please?

Early 2009 24-inch iMac w 8GB, OS 10.6.8, Fusion2 w Win7 installed.

Posted on Jul 12, 2012 3:50 PM

5 replies

Jul 12, 2012 4:05 PM in response to Susan Hull

VMware Fusion is 4.0 and it has been 'ages' since 2.x series which would be a real reason why it doesn't work well -

http://www.vmware.com/products/fusion/overview.html

Run Windows natively if 4.0 doesn't cut it but you might want to put Windows or Windows and OS X, on an SSD.

You normally would install that way anyway (onto a partition) and then have Parallels or Fusion link to and use that system anyway as the guest OS VM under OS X., benefit being you can do dual boot and have native full hardware for speed, or use a VM for simplier things that don't

Or you really might want to have a dedicated Windows machine - laptop and iMac, even go into a KVM to share a large exernal monitor.

I get the feeling though between VMware and Parallels that the later is more up to date and popular and can dynamically allocate RAM and processor cores on the fly as needed.

Depending on the program, you might be better off with 16GB RAM and running Windows (VM or native) off an SSD.