Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

QuickTime movie made in QuickTime 7 audio not playing back in qt 10

I made a qt using qt 7 pro, H.264 with the AAC audio compressor and that qt will not play back audio in QuickTime 10 which is what my client has on his computer.

Posted on Jul 16, 2012 10:22 AM

4 replies

Jul 20, 2012 6:23 AM in response to Wayde

Hi Jon,

I'm sorry, I'm not able to get back into my studio for another week. The point being here is that I rendered out a movie in QuickTime pro 7 and the audio isn't being resolved in QuickTime 10, even on my own computer. (8 core power mac tower about a year old) How is this possible and should I just remove qt10 altogether? I am a professional editor, have been working on Macs since 1992 (Avid and FCP7) and have never had a compatibility problem like this before within the Mac environment.

Jul 20, 2012 8:34 AM in response to Wayde

The point being here is that I rendered out a movie in QuickTime pro 7 and the audio isn't being resolved in QuickTime 10, even on my own computer.

Does the audio play correctly in the QT 7 Player? Have you determined if this is a playback or a conversion problem? I asked about the source file since some source compression formats will not convert the audio using QT 7 Pro. In a similar manner, some AAC data rate and sampling rate combinations are not supported on the Mac which is why QT is programmed to disallow their use. (Unfortunately, I do not know what would happen if a source file using such audio settings were to be used as a source for a QT 7 Pro conversion.)

How is this possible and should I just remove qt10 altogether?