Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

PC to Macbook user- Just purchased refurb - SLOW!!!!

2 weeks ago I purchased a Refurbished MacBook Pro 2.3GHz dual-core Intel i5-- Im completely new to mac as I've been a pc user my whole life. (Last laptop was a lenovo thinkpad - was actually really happy with it, it was simple and did what I needed it to. Unfortunately, it was the size of a minivan)

I was psyched to finally get a Macbook but I'm having a terrible time with the transition. Im not used to the functions. Everything feels SO intimidatingly different. And worst of all - its SO SLOW! even playlist.com just buffers. help!!

Obviously something is wrong here. Do I take it back? Do I get rid of programs? Add a program? I NEED a laptop for my job and the nearest Apple is 2 hours away. Please help!!

Posted on Jul 18, 2012 9:15 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jul 18, 2012 9:37 PM

And worst of all - its SO SLOW! even playlist.com just buffers. help!!

According to playlist.com, the site requires the Flash plugin. So try troubleshooting...

Assuming you are using Safari to surf the net...

Quit Safari.

Open System Preferences > Flash Player then select the Storage tab. Click: Delete All

Now uninstall the Flash plugin then reinstall new > Troubleshoot Flash Player | Mac OS

Make sure to uninstall the currently installed Flash plugin before reinstalling.

Launch Safari From your Safari menu bar top of your scree click Safari > Empty Cache

Now try a video.

If you have the ClickToFlash extension installed, that can prevent Flash based video from streaming. From your Safari menu bar top of your screen click Safari > Preferences then select the Extensions tab.

It can also be installed as a plugin in HD > Library > Library Internet Plug-Ins