Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

I deleted my Time Machine backups using Finder, now the trash won't empty

Hello

I've just been to the Apple genius bar and thought this was solved, there the trash emptied no problem. But I realized that the problem has to do with two external drives that have time machine backups on them. I deleted some of the older back ups because my drive was filling up and I didn't see any other way to delete them.

Now they can't be reinstated back where they were, and the trash won't empty using any method. I've even tried the Terminal SUMO methods on here and other sites, and the Trashi It app, and Cocktail app - nothing works.

The only solutions I've found say to wipe your back up drive completely and start over but that is NOT an option as I have ALL of my photos on there. I use my external drive for my images (I am a photographer) and use time machine to back up my MacBookPro onto there as well. I had no idea deleting those was going to be an issue. Now I've tried to delete other things on both external drives and they are all stuck in the trash.

Someone please help!

MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.6.8)

Posted on Jul 19, 2012 2:45 PM

14 replies

Jul 19, 2012 4:09 PM in response to photogirl67

photogirl67 wrote:

. . .

I use my external drive for my images (I am a photographer) and use time machine to back up my MacBookPro onto there as well.

Not a good idea, as you've learned the hard way. 😟

And especially bad in the same partition, as you can't just erase the TM partition.

Plus, how do you back up the images?

For best results, consider getting another external HD; one for the images, and one for TM. Then you can have Time Machine back up both your Mac and the external. See Time Machine - Frequently Asked Question #32 for details and considerations.

But my question for Pondini is this - if I use that command will it erase that entire drive, or just the trash on it?