5 Replies Latest reply: Jul 21, 2012 1:03 PM by Cosman
Cosman Level 1 Level 1 (10 points)

This may sound dumb, but I can't figure out what iCloud is good for.  I know it is a server "in the Cloud" that can store all kinds of info, but I can't find anything it will do for me, even though there are a lot of things I wish it would do.

Let me explain.  I am a scientist.  I own no "i" devices, just 4 mac computers in 3 different places.  I don't listen to music or watch movies online.  I haven't ever bought anything from the iTunes store.  I may buy SW online in the future from the Cloud, but not yet.

So, what good is iCloud to me?  I really don't know.  It would be  nice if I could post documents to it and retriever them elsewhere.  Like a file transfer between computers.  Or an email repository.

Can any one tell me what iCloud can do if you don't do the IOS stuff?

Thanks

MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.7.3), I7, 8GB, 750GB, Lion
  • 1. Re: Confused.  What is iCloud good for?
    uselessSABOTAGE Level 4 Level 4 (3,680 points)

You can use iCloud to keep your calendar/contacts/bookmarks/mail (for an icloud email account) and other things in sync across your macs.  You can also use icloud.com to store/move documents across multiple devices.  However in my opinion www.dropbox.com will offer you better file storage/movement options. 

• 2. Re: Confused.  What is iCloud good for?
    Julian Wright Level 7 Level 7 (34,850 points)

You can use it for email, and for keeping your contacts, calendars, reminders and bookmarks in sync across multiple Mac computers.

You can also use it to locate a stolen Mac.

When Mountain Lion is released later this month, iCloud compatible apps will be able to save documents directly to iCloud meaning they will instantly become available on all your other Macs.

• 3. Re: Confused.  What is iCloud good for?