Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

ichat can't communicate

This morning I cannot log into ichat. Last week everything was fine. I found an old discussion from 2010 but contents did not help. Error message is: "ichat cn't communicate with the Mac.com account xxxx. Screen name intered is not valid."

I tried to log on to the AIM site. After entering my user name, I got the response there had been unusual activity and the account was disabled. The website wanted to verify the account with some questions (looked like standard stuff) but was unable to. I have been using the same AIM account for about 5 years.

I tried creating a new account but after doing so, I get a strange message about putting in 110% effort and my account will be ready in 24 hours. Then there is an error code at the bottom.

What's up?

The ichat version is : 5.0.3

Posted on Jul 21, 2012 4:30 PM

32 replies

Jul 22, 2012 12:07 PM in response to sldough

Hi,

@mac.com names are valid AIM names as you probably know,

However you do need to keep the Password to a max of 16 characters as the AIM servers cannot cope with longer ones.

Use iForgot to change the Password

You can try an log in to the AIM Settings page and this may tell you that the account has been suspended.

If you have seen this message you should also change your password.

User uploaded file
8:07 PM Sunday; July 22, 2012

Please, if posting Logs, do not post any Log info after the line "Binary Images for iChat"

 iMac 2.5Ghz 5i 2011 (Lion 10.7.2)
 G4/1GhzDual MDD (Leopard 10.5.8)
 MacBookPro 2Gb (Snow Leopard 10.6.8)
 Mac OS X (10.6.8),
"Limit the Logs to the Bits above Binary Images."  No, Seriously

Jul 23, 2012 5:39 AM in response to Ralph-Johns-UK

Thanks, Ralph.

When I try to change my password, I get the message:

xxxx@mac.com we're sorry.

There is no information to reset your password.