Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Looking for help with time machine

I am a not a tech guy and looking for help with time machine. It has been working fine until a couple days ago. The error says the back up is too large. I have not added or changed anything. Looking in the preferences excluded is virtual machine (Fusion) which is 59.13 GB. The error reports the back-up required is 70.76 GB and only 37.73 available. Looking for a direction to correct the error.

Thank you in advance for any help.

iMac, Mac OS X (10.6.8)

Posted on Jul 24, 2012 11:39 AM

5 replies

Jul 24, 2012 3:24 PM in response to BDAqua

Tried your idea and now time machine does not see the back-up disk. I look in finder and it tries to connect and the connection fails. I plugged the back up disk into a laptop and it see it but also fails to connect. I that enough evidecne to suggest the back up disk has failed? Time Machine preferences does not see the back-up disk as an option? Again is the problem likely the back-up disk?

Jul 24, 2012 5:34 PM in response to dennisfromdove canyon

Launch the Terminal application in any of the following ways:

Enter the first few letters of its name into a Spotlight search. Select it in the results (it should be at the top.)

In the Finder, select Go Utilities from the menu bar, or press the key combination shift-command-U. The application is in the folder that opens.

Open LaunchPad. Click Utilities, then Terminal in the page that opens.

Drag or copy — do not type — the following line into the Terminal window, then press return:

sudo tmutil compare

You'll be prompted for your login password, which won't be displayed when you type it. You may get a one-time warning not to screw up.

The command will take at least a few minutes to run. Eventually some lines of output will appear below what you entered.