Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Numbers: how to remove phone number formatting

Is there any way to remove phone number formatting from a cell in Numbers?

I have nearly 100 separate files of contact information. I can bring the files in from a text delimited file (Excel, cvs, etc.)

The phone numbers in those files are formatted in every way imaginable (999) 999-9999, 999-999-9999, 999.999.9999, etc. I'd like to strip that formatting out so I get the just the numbers: 9999999999. My intent is just to use Numbers temporarily to strip out the phone number formating before bringing the data into the 4D database program.

Someone is selling a $29 formula for Excel to do this, but then I'd have to buy Excel again--my old version of Excel doesn't work in my latest version of the Mac OS. I can strip the phone number formatting out in 4D, but I'm not a programmer and it is complicated.

Posted on Jul 24, 2012 1:10 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jul 24, 2012 2:12 PM

Manually:

search for "-" and replace with nothing

search for "(" and replace with nothing

search for ")" and replace with nothing

search for "." and replace with nothing

User uploaded file

You could also make a table that allows you to paste in the phone numbers in their various forms and have a cell with a formula that replces the offending characters with nothing:

User uploaded file

B1=SUBSTITUTE(SUBSTITUTE(SUBSTITUTE(SUBSTITUTE(SUBSTITUTE(A1,".",""),")",""),"(" ,"")," ",""),"-","")

this repeatedly substitutes various characters in your offending list (".", "-", " ", "(", ")") with nothing.

The last way is to use a script of some kind to make the substitution.

12 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Jul 24, 2012 2:12 PM in response to MikeM.

Manually:

search for "-" and replace with nothing

search for "(" and replace with nothing

search for ")" and replace with nothing

search for "." and replace with nothing