Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Safari Code Inspector in Mountain Lion - where are my needed features?

I just upgraded to Mountain Lion and am having some problems with Safari. I am a web developer and have come to rely on Safari's Code inspector to test and debug my websites. I use it all day long.

With the new version, there are two huge problems:

1. No longer shows line numbers in the css style declarations; they appear to be all lumped together making it very hard to find what I need to edit

2. When the code inspector is open, Safari won't load a new page. It just sits there until you close the inspector. The previous version would just refresh when a new URL was visited.

Am I missing something on how to enable these features? It's really slowing me down. Thanks for your help.

iMac, OS X Mountain Lion, Safar Code Inspector

Posted on Jul 26, 2012 8:12 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jul 26, 2012 9:46 AM

I have the same question, some things have improved which is great, but many things have been taken away which are crucial for us web developers. I'm having a tough time to have the styles even show at all, I click through the different web elements and the styles don't change. But my biggest problem is the drop down "New Style Rule" is gone. I used that all the time where it would automatically get the style of the current item and let you add new styles. Ugh!

I had to go to Firefox and actually was suprised how good their built in Web Inspector is now (no need for firebug). Apple please fix your web inspector, I enjoy using Safari and want to keep using it.

11 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Jul 26, 2012 9:46 AM in response to chadtheknife