Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Time Machine will not back up. Error reads: some files cannot be changed. anyone?

I've been backing up my harddrive with Time machine for a few years now, but all of a sudden it won't back up. The errorr reads something like: "files cannot be changed." any ideas? I haven't switched external hard drives or anything like that. I also can't just drag the harddrive to the external one and back it up that way.

thanks,

Jeff

MacBook (13-inch Aluminum Late 2008), Mac OS X (10.5.8)

Posted on Jul 30, 2012 1:35 PM

3 replies

Nov 15, 2012 11:21 AM in response to Pondini

Hi! Its been a few months but I went ahead and used the Console and got the messages:

Nov 15 11:02:44 jeffrey-zduneks-macbook-3 /System/Library/CoreServices/backupd[359]: Backup requested due to disk attach

Nov 15 11:02:44 jeffrey-zduneks-macbook-3 /System/Library/CoreServices/backupd[359]: Starting standard backup

Nov 15 11:02:45 jeffrey-zduneks-macbook-3 /System/Library/CoreServices/backupd[359]: Backing up to: /Volumes/FreeAgent GoFlex Drive 1/Backups.backupdb

Nov 15 11:02:46 jeffrey-zduneks-macbook-3 /System/Library/CoreServices/backupd[359]: Event store UUIDs don't match for volume: Macintosh HD

Nov 15 11:02:46 jeffrey-zduneks-macbook-3 /System/Library/CoreServices/backupd[359]: No pre-backup thinning needed: 143.54 GB requested (including padding), 1.55 TB available

Nov 15 11:02:46 jeffrey-zduneks-macbook-3 /System/Library/CoreServices/backupd[359]: Waiting for index to be ready (906 > 0)

Nov 15 11:04:49 jeffrey-zduneks-macbook-3 com.apple.launchd[1] (com.apple.backupd-wake[285]): Exited with exit code: 1

Thanks!

Jeff

Nov 15, 2012 11:33 AM in response to Zdunek1

Zdunek1 wrote:

. . .

/System/Library/CoreServices/backupd[359]: Event store UUIDs don't match for volume: Macintosh HD