Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Safari 6 & Snow Leopard

Hello,

I have my MBP 13 2011 upgraded to 8GB Ram and 180 SSD, running Snow Leopard. I am a music producer, using laptop as a portable studio (having the same stuff on studio's Mac Pro and my MBP), therefore stability and compatibility with a third party AU plugins ( I use Logic Pro 9) is critical.

I also use MBP to surf the web, make contracts, invoices and for other paper work that need to be done. Heard that a new safari 6 is only available for 10.7 & 10.8, and that the current version of it on SL (5.1.7) has more than 100 holes. I love safari very, very much and cannot get used to hangs of Chrome while opening new pages neither memory leaks of the Firefox. I wonder if there will be some Safari 6 or whatever that will have all the wholes fixed?

Forgot to mention, I need Snow Leopard due Rosetta.

Thanks

Ivan P.

Safari-OTHER, Mac OS X (10.6.8)

Posted on Aug 6, 2012 8:48 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Aug 8, 2012 12:24 PM

I'm sorry to say that Snow Leopard is Dead and will not be getting Safari 6 or the 121 security updates it provides. In fact it will no longer be getting security updates period so realistically it is no longer very safe to use Snow Leopard machines to access the internet. Which is odd considering that SL has the most Mac market share right now....

Regardless of browser loyalty you 100% need to stop using Safari to browse the web and switch to something like Chrome etc which will continue to receive security updates to prevent problems on your mac. Re: memory leaks Ive really not found that to be an issue with Firefox espeically vs Safari which traditionally has been the one eating up GBs of ram. But to each their own I guess. It's not 2005 anymore where you didnt have to worry about the possibilty of your Mac getting rooted by surfing the internet so you need to stop using Safari asap.