Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Is there a way of finding out what has been accessed on my MacBook Pro whilst in the possession of an apple authorised service centre?

Hi Guys,

I'm a bit new to this discussion group thing although I've been using Macintosh computers for many years (showing my age).

I handed my MacBook Pro to be repaired at an authorised apple service centre. When I handed it in they said they needed to keep hold of it to run some diagnostics and requested my password. I've owned various models of mac for the the past 17 years and this is the first hardware problem I have encountered, hence I have never bothered to set up user accounts.

As I live in quite a remote part of Sweden I am paranoid that some untrusted technician is going to make a copy of my music (11,000 tracks) or share some of my personal information (scanned copies of my birth certificate, passport, certificates, photos, etc.) on the web. Is there a way of finding out what activity has taken place whilst they've had it in their possession?

I appreciate any advice you guys can offer.

Thanks!

PS: I've already thought about the 'recently opened' menu and The machine in question is a MacBook Pro 17" (2011) running OS X 10.6.8 (need Rosetta).

MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.6.8)

Posted on Aug 8, 2012 6:02 AM

11 replies

Aug 8, 2012 7:45 AM in response to Richard III

The only way to have protected yourself completely would have been to enable File Vault -- dicey in Snow Leopard at best, move all your sensitive data to a password protected disk image, or zero out the drive, after making sure you have a bootable clone in good working order on an external drive.

The latter, zeroing the drive, is what I would have done. When you got it back, you would simply have restored the empty drive to the clone.

Aug 8, 2012 8:07 AM in response to Richard III