Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

FCP 7 slow with many stills. rMBP with 16 GB RAM?

I'm editing documentaries that are heavy heavy with stills, and they must be high res. I'm frustrated with my 3 year oldl MBP's sluggishness and looking at getting something new. I am considering the 16 GB rMBP in order to have the high RAM, but will this solve the problem I'm having? I also need to have other things open when I work -- i.e. to search Google for info, to read MAIL, to work on paper cut on WORD. My MBP just can't seem to handle it all. PLUS i am storing everything on hard external drives, so they are also churning (most are firewire 800).

I've read lots of debates about the new MBP and the only real reason I'm considering the retina is the option to get 16 GB RAM, but is there an alternative option to have fast/more capable of handling it all?

I'm not a professional editor/ I'm a producer of oral history based documentaries and it's just simpler to do the edit myself usually, so I'm not very sophisticated about some of the technical aspects of things.

I do very simple things in FCP 7 -- cuts, fades, cross fades. combining interviews with film clips with photos and music. nothing else flashy. Maybe I don't even need to be using FCP???

thanks for the time to listen to my challenges!

macbook pro, Mac OS X (10.5.6)

Posted on Aug 11, 2012 11:54 AM

7 replies

Aug 11, 2012 1:07 PM in response to mbpellie

More RAM is not going to help you with FCP 7. (FCP X, however, would gladly use as much RAM as you can stuff into the beefiest of workstations.)

I don't own the new MBP, but the people who do (including family members) tell me it is crazy fast. TB is obviously going to be a huge step up in speeds – although selection of drives is limited.