Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

qhy won't new mac book startup with externaldrive snow leopard

I have been working on Macs and Pc's for 17 years

The new macbook pro is the only computer that will not recognize an exteral "valid" snow leopard 10.6.8 Os as a valid stratup drive.

What gives Apple or is it Mac

Now that Steven Jobs has died has the devil taken over?

Disk Utility Drive Restore no longer allows me to use the previous softwae to startup a macbook Pro purchased in June 2012

I new you were going to do it.

I think it is a stupid move.

Posted on Aug 12, 2012 9:30 AM

7 replies

Aug 12, 2012 10:48 AM in response to lanemedia

The Apple Support Communities are an international user to user technical support forum. As a man from Mexico, Spanish is my native tongue. I do not speak English very well, however, I do write in English with the aid of the Mac OS X spelling and grammar checks. I also live in a culture perhaps very very different from your own. When offering advice in the ASC, my comments are not meant to be anything more than helpful and certainly not to be taken as insults.

Many years before Steve Jobs died, Apple has long stated that you should not install a version of OS X that predates the version that shipped on a new Mac. It has nothig todo do with the devil, it is because an older version of OS X does not have the hardware specific software to run the newer Mac properly or in your situation, at all.

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT2186

Aug 12, 2012 11:11 AM in response to Dah•veed

I understand all of this

I was probable fixing compters before you werre born

My onlly complaint

No matter which machine you owned previously

Power Pc

Os 7 8 9 or 10X

Intel version of whatever OSX

Similar computers always let you start up the, or a machine with software on an exterrnal disk.

You could take a xdrive to someone elses house and startup there machine with your xdrive.