Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

What is meant by ''Product replacement pending''? - Apple Repair iPad 2

Sent in my iPad to Apple for repair because of a faulty home button. But customer service indicated that I would receive a totally new unit and that my iPad would not be repaired, but replaced with a new one.

But then all emails from Apple updating me on the progress indicate that my iPad will be repaired.

Today, my iPad went for a 'Service' and the Service has been complete. The status now says ''Product replacement pending''

I have no clue about Apple Repair because I've never used this service before. I'm not farmiliar with how it operates.

Can anyone explain?

Product replacement pending sounds to me like they have Serviced y iPad and now they are going to replace it?

HELP!

iPad 2, iOS 5.1

Posted on Aug 13, 2012 6:59 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Aug 13, 2012 7:04 PM

you're getting a replacement in the mail. Apple doesn't normally replace a malfunctioning one with a new one, but rather with a refurbished one. And that sounds like what they're going to do.

14 replies

Aug 13, 2012 8:07 PM in response to kcullen

I'm in Ireland. I called apple support and explained my problem. They then sent me a box to put my iPad in along with a UPS shipping label. The UPS courier then collected it from my house destined for England. Very simple process.

I just hope that the iPad I receive in return is up to standard as some refurbs have minor problems.

Aug 13, 2012 9:07 PM in response to JackDooner

Hi Jack,

Our iPad that we bought before visiting your wonderful country in May was a refurb. Works great. Refurb iPads, according to Apple get a new case, glass, and battery. We saved quite a bit.