Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Soreness and numbness in fingertips from trackpad

I've been getting sore fingertips and numbness from using my 2010 Macbook Air's trackpad. It has got progressively worse over the 18 months I've owned it. It get's too painful to touch the pad after a few hours.

I press as lightly as possible and switched to tap-to-click a few months ago and, although it hasn't got any worse, it hasn't got better either. It doesn't go away even if I don't use it for days and I'm starting to worry that it is permanent damage.

I am a part-time student so I can't simply stop using it. I am also a builder's labourer so it's not that I have soft hands.

I tend to use it on the sofa, so a mouse doesn't seem to be the answer and also partly defeats the point of having a laptop.

Anyone else have this problem?

MacBook Air (13-inch Late 2010), Mac OS X (10.6.8)

Posted on Aug 15, 2012 5:23 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Dec 11, 2013 8:40 PM

Just posted this to another forum but I'll post it here as well.

I echo GoodSamritan's suggestions.

I have been having finger tip sensitivity while using the trackpad for about a year. Sometimes it is better sometimes it's worse. I think I've come across multiple contributors:

• ]The coating on the trackpad is wearing off. I believe the coating is probably some sort of low friction substance.
  • My hands get dry in the winter.

Solutions:

• Apply a high quality phone or tablet screen protector on top of your trackpad. I'm using a cheap one right now. A new one is coming in the mail. My fingers did start to hurt again on the one I'm currently using but it may be compounded by the winter dryness of my hands.