Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How can I do I do this ?

I am doig some house cleaning on my MBP. I have a lot of managed masters that I will be moving off to a HD.

Some of the masters were actually exports from iPhoto. I would like to have the iPhoto exports just in iPhoto. I beleive they were left in the iPhoto libray and Aperture just points to them in that location. But I want to be sure. Spotlight wasn't much help. In iPhoto I can right click and then "Show File" and the path to the file shows up.

As far as I can tell in Aperture, unless the master is offline or missing, I can't do anything like that. But I am hoping there is a way to verify the location of the master, before I delete thme from Aperture.

Thanks in advance for any help.

17 , Mac OS X (10.6.8), Aperture, FCP X,

Posted on Aug 15, 2012 7:35 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Aug 15, 2012 7:54 AM

As far as I can tell in Aperture, unless the master is offline or missing, I can't do anything like that.

If a master/original of an image is referenced, you can show the original file with

File > Show in Finder

but only if the original is not offline or missing.

You can check the file status of your original/master image files using smart searches or smart albums. Add a rule to the smart settings HUD "File Status is" - the images that are referencing the iPhoto library should have the file stautus "referenced" and you should see their masters with "Show in Finder".

What is your Aperture version? If you had Aperture 3.3.2 and iPhoto 9.3.2, you simply could open your Aperture Library in iPhoto and then use iPhoto's show command to show your managed masters, but since your signature is MacOS X 10.6.8 you probably have an earlier Aperture version.

Regards

Léonie

4 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Aug 15, 2012 7:54 AM in response to Michigan One Fly