Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Re Retina display vs. non-Retina.

Hi,

I've been reading a lot during past few weeks regarding Retina display and if it can do good for me. I'm a game developer myself and mostly work with text editors like Visual Studio or XCode and game engines such as Unity and don't do any serious Photoshop or Web design rather than my usual needs. I also plan to play games with with my MacBook Pro as well. I will surely use Windows on it, probably at least half of the time I'll be in Windows.

That being said, I was wondering how good will Retina display do for me. So I began reading more and more and more of reviews regarding this just to find out even some of them are wrong.

I believe Apple designed Retina display to be used as 1440x900, thus being "best for Retina" settings, so if I use that, will the image be better than a regular laptop's display being set to 1440x900?

I'm a computer science garduate myself and as I remember when you have more pixels on the screen, you have to have data to put on it so if you have more pixels on the screen, you have to have more data to put into it OR something, that can be GPU or OS, should do some scaling to fill those pixels.

After all, I'm sacrificing 500GiB of disk space with getting this machine versus non-Retina one so it's very important to me if it's doing any good to me or it's just for photographers and web designers.

Thanks in advance.

Posted on Aug 16, 2012 9:41 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Aug 16, 2012 10:16 AM