Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Seagate GoFlex external HD not mounting

I have a 1.5 TB "Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex Media" external hard drive. I have been using the drive for about 8 months on my 2008 black MacBook running 10.6.8 with no problems other than the loose, poorly designed dock and cable that came with the drive causing it to dismount from time to time.

A couple of weeks ago I purchased a brand new non-retina MBP running OS10.8 with USB 3.0 ports. For the first few days the Seagate would mount intermittently. When it didn't mount, unplugging it and plugging it back in would work. Now it will not mount at all, ever. I have changed the settings on my MBP so that drives will show up on the desktop. I have also deleted the seagate driver from the MBP as recommended on a few forums and this did nothing. The drive still mounts quickly on my old machine, but does not show up on the desktop or in Disk Utility on my new MBP.

Please do not tell me to buy a different hard drive. I know what my options are and I would like to access my data on this drive on my new machine if possible. Is there a driver or software I'm missing that will help with compatibility or is this an issue with MBP's USB 3.0?

Thank You very much for your time,

Nathan

MacBook Pro (15-inch, Mid 2012), OS X Mountain Lion, 2.6i7/8GB/1TB5400

Posted on Aug 17, 2012 8:33 PM

6 replies

Aug 21, 2012 12:42 PM in response to natechien

Bump...

I am now using a USB 2.0 interface with my GoFlex enabling it to mount, but the 3.0 connection is simply not working!

Any comments, tips or suggestions? I will of course be buying a new HD and trying to get my $ back for the GoFlex but any help would be greatly appreciated.