Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Why is Javascript sometimes not working?

Hello -

I am a web programmer, and also design websites. One of my clients tells me that the javascript slide show on three of her pages is not working in Safari. She wants it fixed, but I have no idea why it isn't working. I don't own an Apple, so it is very difficult for me to debug this problem without some help.

1) It works fine in Internet Explorer and Firefox.

2) I have other javascripts on the same page, and they're working fine in Safari.

3) I went back to the ReadMe file for the script, "Ultimate Fade-in slideshow", and they indicated that it should work in Safari.

Since I didn't write the script myself, I am not even going to attempt to figure out how to change it to make it work ( it's a VERY long script ).

However, I'm wondering if anyone has experienced a similar problem, namely 1) and 2) above ( not necessarily the same script, but the same type of problem ). If so, then I'll attempt to find a work-around.

---

prof611

BTW, this question was originally posted 4 years ago on the Safari forum. I didn't get any satisfactory answers, and I can't add to that thread now, since it has been archived, so I'm reposting the question in this forum, at the suggestion of Allan Jones( Level 7 ). He also writes,

I visited your site with Safari 5 under OS 10.6.8 and see a big empty pane with a pink border near the top. The Safari Activity window shows no errors for the site. If i use FireFox 14 for Mac, I see an nice slide show. So Safari isn't happy with something.

Here is an offending page: http://www.simpleislandweddings.com/index2.shtml

None-OTHER, Windows 7

Posted on Aug 20, 2012 2:30 AM

6 replies

Aug 21, 2012 9:40 AM in response to msuper69