Skip navigation

Original Files Unavailable

550 Views 9 Replies Latest reply: Feb 15, 2013 8:43 PM by Kevin Quattro RSS
penpro Calculating status...
Currently Being Moderated
Aug 21, 2012 10:13 AM

I have been using Aperture for several months now. I have imported and edited hundreds of files without issue. I have not changed any settings that I know of. Aperture is using the iPhoto Library at this time.

I imported a series of images into a new folder. I went back to edit them and none of them are editable. I can't export or any other operation. It always states that the originals are not available. I have cleared the cards that the images came off of so I can't reimport them.

There are icons in the corner of images in Aperture in the lower right corner. Is there a list of what they all are and what they mean any where? The icon that is showing is an arrow curving from the lower left to the upper right and what looks like a small lock.

How can I get these images back and able to be worked on?

MacBook Pro (13-inch, Mid 2012), Mac OS X (10.7.4)
  • Kirby Krieger Level 6 Level 6 (11,570 points)
    Aug 21, 2012 11:36 AM (in response to penpro)

The little icons are Badges.  Their meanings are listed on this helpful page from the User Manual.

To find out where Aperture expects an Image's Original to be located, select the Image and run "File➞Locate Referenced Files".  At the top of the dialog the path to your Image's Original is shown.  Does this path make any sense?  Can you explain why Aperture recorded this location?  (You can do this with multiple Images selected as well.)

(A little further explanation would also be helpful:  you cannot import into Folders.  You _must_ import into Projects.  What do you mean when you say "I imported a series of images into a new folder"?)

Aug 21, 2012 1:49 PM (in response to penpro)

penpro wrote:

Thanks for the list of icons, that helps a lot.