Newsroom Update

Beginning in May, a special Today at Apple series titled “Made for Business” will offer small business owners and entrepreneurs free opportunities to learn how Apple products and services can support their growth and success. Learn more >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Apple remote desktop in a school environment.

Hi, I am a school IT administrator currently managing 300+ MacBooks without any management softare. I just purchased apple remote desktop and was wondering if there's a way to give students limited permissions in regards to turning the remote management option off and on, while still allowing them to do various tasks that they have to do on a normal basis, like installing applications and changing WiFi settings. I have the option to wipe every computer and start fresh with a mountain lion image. The imaging software we use isn't apple based, but can install packages (which is what I was looking at, a client installer package). I would much rather not imaging though.

Thanks for any input you have, Liam.

MacBook Pro, OS X Mountain Lion

Posted on Aug 22, 2012 8:24 PM

3 replies

Aug 23, 2012 7:23 AM in response to ShiningTitan

Sorry, but if they have the administrator privileges necessary to install most software and make other settings changes, there's no way to prevent them from turning off ARD. In earlier versions of Mac OS X, it was possible to create users with limited admin privileges, but that seems to be no longer possible since Apple dropped NetInfo.

Regards.

Aug 23, 2012 4:54 PM in response to ShiningTitan

I would not allow users to install stuff on organization owned equipment or change wireless, or fiddle with remote management settings, it's not theirs to fiddle with. You're in for a world of pain going in that direction imo.

if it was a BYOD environment that would be a different matter and you should not be responsible for users equipment.