Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Why does my iMac boot in linux some of the time instead of Mac OS?

I first encountered this problem in os 10.8 and when I installed 10.8.1 I thought it had been fixed because I booted 10 times without the problem occurring. However, it's back.

iMac10,1

Posted on Aug 24, 2012 5:52 PM

62 replies

Aug 26, 2012 8:17 AM in response to BDAqua

Sorry I didn't get back sooner, BDAqua, and thanks for your interest. It has just been a busy time. In answer to your question, I just start up by pushing the button on the back of my iMac. Nothing more interesting or fancy than that. My problem is that often it doesn't boot up into OSX but into what looks like Linux to me. I am an ex-software engineer but not on macs and it has been a decade since I worked on linux, but I'm pretty sure that's what I am looking at. I type exit when what I take to be linux console messages stop and then OSX starts up.

Aug 26, 2012 8:29 AM in response to Fred Ochs

I don't know Linux from my elbow, but you would have had to install it for it boot to it. And it doesn't seem like you did. Does the screen look like a lot of MS-DOS text? If so, that sounds like it's booting into single user mode or Verbose Mode, which is normally only accesible by holding Cmd-s and Cmd-v, respectively, at the startup chime.

http://reviews.cnet.com/8301-13727_7-57498000-263/what-to-do-when-a-mac-always-b oots-to-verbose-or-single-user-modes/

Aug 26, 2012 8:39 AM in response to Fred Ochs

WZZZ's reply has rung a bell with me. I think I've seen your problem mentioned a couple of times on these forums - a PRAM reset should fix it:

Reset PRAM

1. Shut down the computer.
  2. Locate the following keys on the keyboard: Command, Option, P and R.
    You will need to hold these keys down simultaneously in step 4.
  3. Turn on the computer.