Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Cannot sync iPhoto - library has an .aplibrary extension?

My iPhoto library is unable to sync with my iPhone or iPad.

My iPhoto library has an .aplibrary extension, although I don't have or use Aperture.

My iPhoto library was exported to Aperture (and then reimported into iPhoto) by Apple when they fixed some issues with my iPhoto library, which was corrupt.

I am trying to work out why the iPhoto library now won't sync - might it be because the iPhoto library is using an ".aplibrary" extension, or not?

Thank you.

Posted on Aug 28, 2012 2:16 PM

5 replies

Sep 17, 2012 3:04 PM in response to Jerry Dammers

I got the same issue with a slightly different setup.

I have a master library in Aperture and I export various libraries for my family members. The exported libraries have the ".aplibrary" extension. Those libraries can't be synced with an iPhone or iPad via iTunes.

I am currently trying to see if I can get Aperture to export a ".photolibrary" file or change the contents of the Aperture library. From a inital look they look very similar but there is a few things missing in the Aperture library that I think iTunes needs to sync.

Anybdoy has similar issues or suggestions what could be tried?

Sep 17, 2012 7:56 PM in response to Jerry Dammers

Jerry,

When you sync an iPhone or iPad using iTunes you need to select whether to sync with Aperture or iPhoto. It won't do both at the same time. I know you are using iPhoto but since you actually have an Aperture library file you must select Aperture in iTunes. I'm not sure if iTunes only looks for an Aperture library to enable the Aperture sync setting or if it needs the Aperture app present.