Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

how do you create a sub-total in numbers for each category

I'm new to Numbers and would like to add up columns into sub-totals for each category. I've fumbled about a bit with help and formulas, but cannot easily find how to add in the necessary row or formula at the end of each category. The template gives me one total line at the end, which I can manage, but how do I separate out the sub-total formulas for each sub-category and then direct it to add the sub-totals into the final total (without double-counting the sub-total on top of the individual amounts)? Thank you for your help.

iMac, Mac OS X (10.7.1)

Posted on Sep 4, 2012 7:34 PM

11 replies

Sep 4, 2012 7:57 PM in response to gcm118236

can you post what a screenshot of what you have so far?

Generally you can use the sumif() function. The function browser has a detailed description of this function. To open the function browser select the menu item "View > Show Function Browser".

There is also a free, downloadable, Users' Guide located here:

http://support.apple.com/manuals/#productivitysoftware

Sep 5, 2012 3:17 PM in response to Wayne Contello

Thank you. I tried what you suggest but the functions are not enabled. I've sanitized my document to take out personal information and shortened it so you can see the categories. What I am doing is an inventory for a shipment, so the columns are filled with details and explanations. The columns are as indicated in the screen shot below, minus my details. I can enable the "sum" for the total at the bottom, but not for any of the other rows, which I have left empty at the bottom of each category for the purpose of sub-totalling. Perhaps I need to create a special type of function row for this, but couldn't find out how to do this from my fumbling around. I am completely new at this software. Thank you very much for your help.

Item

Quantity

Purchase Date