Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

stop itunes from downloading tv shows

hello,

i have an Apple TV where i subscribe to Season Passes for various shows and watch them on my TV. great. problem: my Macs are also downloading the same exact content, storing them on their harddrives. theyre very large files, and i dont need want to store them locally or use my bandwidth.

i do, however, want my Music purchses to auto-download to the Macs.

how do i set this? i thought i used to be able to but in the new iTunes i dont see checkboxes for TV...in Preferences > Store > Automatic Downloads i see a checkbox for "Music", which is checked.

thanks,

matt

Pages-OTHER, OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.1), iTunes

Posted on Sep 18, 2012 12:36 PM

14 replies

Oct 4, 2012 2:37 PM in response to mdelvecchio

I tried that as well...However, whenever I checked for available downloads, they showed up again. When I view my iTunes store account, it still says I have items waiting for download. So, unless I remove them from the download queue, I think they will jsut keep trying to download. I broke down and emailed Apple iTunes support to remove them from the queue, because I don't think there is any other solution... Also, I think if enough people email them with this problem, maybe they'll actually fix it...

Dec 7, 2012 9:16 AM in response to mdelvecchio

Something I just tried and it appears to work... even after "checking for available downloads"

1. Go to "TV Shows" in iTunes
  2. Select All TV shows using Cmd-A
  3. Right Click over selections, Mark as Watched (may have to mark as unwatched first, then mark as watched)
  4. Then, Right Click Again over selections, "Uncheck Selections"

So in theory, if marked as watched and the item is unchecked... no more downloads.

[UPDATE]: Nevermind. Quit iTunes, Restarted. Downloading Resumed... ARGGGHHHH!

Jan 14, 2013 2:04 PM in response to mdelvecchio