Newsroom Update

Beginning in May, a special Today at Apple series titled “Made for Business” will offer small business owners and entrepreneurs free opportunities to learn how Apple products and services can support their growth and success. Learn more >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

ARD keeps showing as not active

I am going to begin by confessing that I am a newbie here, I am not an IT tech and that my questions may be rudimentary and frustrating to experienced users. I apologize in advance.

I set up a remote desktop connection with my father's computer in another state so that I could do his Quickbooks for his business. When initially set up, things worked fine. However, I switched to Mountain Lion and I have had a host of problems since.

1.) I installed chicken of the VNC to create my connection. I am running Remote Desktop Admin 3.6.1 on Mountain Lion. At first, my father's imac was running ARD 3.6 on Lion. While I was trying to fix this issue, I have since updated him to ARD 3.6.1 and updated his lion.

2.) Most days I will go into to my Remote Desktop Admin program and I will find that his computer states ARD not active and will not allow me manage, control or observe. It used to be, If I called him up and told him to restart his computer, it would then show up as available. However, the next day it would show as ARD not active again. After trying different things to resolve it, nothing has helped to keep it showing as available. Yesterday after he restarted his computer and I was able to remotely control his computer again, I installed the latest updates on his computer. This morning, it showed his computer available (Yeah!), but I could not screen share (boo!). I restarted his computer through remote desktop admin and then it came back up showing as ARD not active. Now I cannot access it again. (Ugh!)

- Things I have tried: