Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Port Forwarding to 2 computers using Apple Remote Desktop ?

Hi Guys,

I'm hoping someone can at least help me understand the problem I'm having with ARD and 2 computers on my home network. I'm not a total newbie, but acronyms like PPoE, and such will confuse me.

Scenario:

For months I've been port forwarding to ARD at home while working away, and it's been working fine. Now the wife wants me to troubleshoot her machine while I'm away too (argh).

So I'm looking for a way to connect to both my own home machine, AND (now) her's too using Apple Remote Desktop 3.5

I have a D-Link G604-T which is working fine with just the one machine, but I don't seem to be able to get it working with the other machine. Ive read about setting up 5901 ports etc, but don't really understand the principle of what needs to be done.

Guidance or advice for a relative non-technophobe most gratefully received please.

Mac OS X (10.6.8)

Posted on Sep 25, 2012 10:57 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Sep 26, 2012 9:20 AM

I do this all the time and it is really straightforward. Several steps are necessary.

1) Change the port address (Remote Management Port & Screen Sharing Port) information in ARD for each machine to ports other than the default 5900, 3283, (I just add one to each for each machine physically behind a single WAN IP address (such as 5901, 3284 for first machine, 5902, 3285 for second machine and so forth)

2) You also have to setup DHCP IP reservations in the home network router such that each target machine will ALWAYS get the same local IP address as port forwarding requires you enter a local static IP address.

3) THEN, you have to make the appropriate offsetting changes in the router port forwarding supporting the end machines (ie have it route say 5901 to 5900 and 3284 to 3283 to the DHCP reserved SPECIFIC local IP address of the machine such as 192.168.0.100).