Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Connecting projectors via VGA to MBA 2012 not working consistently?

I am a trainer working around uk and Europe. I keep finding displays that will not work with my MBA. What happened to plug and play?....

MacBook Air, OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.1)

Posted on Sep 26, 2012 4:03 PM

16 replies

Sep 26, 2012 11:11 PM in response to ColTrombone

I have used macs for 10 years

Okay, so have I, and I keep having surprises and keep learning. So what are you trying to say? 😉

Just will not show up on projected screen despite me changing settings,detecting display,restarting etc

I sometimes find defect cables and connectors on site, I'm sure you spot those as well. Who to blame. Other than that, I've always got some signal onto the screen, even if not pretty colors, ideal contrast and brightness, or perfectly scaled. Or simply at a lower resolution and/or refresh rate than what I've been wishing for.

With OS X's UI regarding external displays basically not having changed since 10.4, we sure have no trouble with handling our machines, and while our Windows friends are still trying to remember where all to press and click, I'm up and running or having a coffee.

Interfaces have changed, but the number of adapters has grown accordingly, and projectors and displays have gotten more "receptive" as well. So, not much in the way here, either.

The gear that is a royal pain in-you-know-where to work with now, has been the same before... all the time...

What else - any more specific description, e.g. a typical showcase you could tell us of? Thanks.

Sep 27, 2012 7:44 AM in response to ColTrombone