Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Need help with logon Script

Hi I'm trying to create a script to mount a NAS storage drive, and create an alias to the users space on the NSA drive on their desktop. We are a school who use both Macs and PC. I am planning on creating a separate script for staff and students, this is the staff script.

Note: The user desktop is stored on the Windows server.

Note2: I'm very new to applescript

1 set username to (do shell script "whoami")

2 set StorageDrive to ("afp://10.250.9.55/StaffHomeFolders")

3 set HomeDrive to ("smb://Staff/Users/" & username as text)

5 tell application "Finder"

6 mount volume StorageDrive

7 mount volume HomeDrive

8 make to "StaffHomeFolders:" & username as text at (username as text) & ":Desktop" new alias file

9 end tell

Note3: If I change line 8 to: {make to "StaffHomeFolders:Tom" at (username as text) & ":Desktop" new alias file} the script will work.

Error: Finder got an error: Can't make \"StaffHomeFolders:tom\" into type item. number -1700 from "StaffHomeFolders:tom" to item

Any help will be welcomed

iMac, Mac OS X (10.6.8), AppleScript

Posted on Oct 2, 2012 4:44 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Oct 2, 2012 9:26 AM

I have admit to being confused as to your goals here, or why you're doing it via a login script.

By far the easiest way to have a volume mount when you login is to add it to your account's Login Items.

Additionally, by default, mounted volumes appear on your desktop anyway, so it's not clear why you're creating aliases (which, I assume, is what your script is trying to do since 'make to...' makes no sense in AppleScript).