Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

WiFi "Login Screen" never allows connection to browser based Login

Im an Arizona State University student, and their WiFi access is based on a browser-screen Login. IE, to sign into the wifi I have to open a webpage, request a page, and it will redirect me to the ASU login where I have to enter my student information to gain access. This was no problem on the old ios, however ever since updating my iphone 4 to ios 6, the login pop-up from the WiFi menu just returns an "Error opening page". It isnt just my school web page that does this, other browser-based logins do this as well. How can I get my phone to open the browser login page in my browser, like I used to, instead of through the WiFi login page that cant ever load it?

Iphone 4 with ios 6, not the 4s or 5. I've checked for further updates. but it says "up to date." I have no issues connecting with my laptop, it's just the new login method in ios 6.

Any suggestions?

iPhone 4, iOS 6

Posted on Oct 2, 2012 11:38 AM

10 replies

Oct 2, 2012 12:04 PM in response to BigUff

The community college where I work has a non-persistent wifi as well. When first connecting to the wifi network, you have to log in through a browser window, however for me, as soon as I am in settings and select the network, a few seconds later the browser opens on its own for me to log in. I have not encountered a network where I had to open the browser separately, so I cannot test anything else for you.

Oct 4, 2012 9:10 AM in response to BigUff

I had the same issues. I could connect to some WiFi networks but not others. Specifically, I could not conenct to my Apple AirPort Extreme at work. I reset the phone. Nothing. I reset the Airport. Nothing.

I finally got my iPhone5 (iOS6) to connect to the Airport by doing the following:

(1) I cleared the history and cookies in Safari (in Settings > Safari > Clear Cookies and Data);