11 Replies Latest reply: Oct 5, 2012 3:16 PM by Dale Weisshaar
atomicluck1 Level 1 Level 1 (30 points)

My MBP unexpectely stopped mid-stream.  Every attempt to restart gets an odd screen with lines of code.  Some say 'Debugger called:  <panic>

The screen says:  "You need to restart your computer.  Hold down the Power button until it turns off, then press the Power button again."

I have done that multiple times and always come back to the same screen.

Any ideas?

MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.7.4), 500GB | 4GB RAM | early 2009
  • Dale Weisshaar Level 6 Level 6 (15,855 points)

You are experiencing a Kernel Panic as seen and described in Apple doc.#106227.

Bad or incompatible RAM is the most common cause of KP's. It could just need to be reset……. to make sure there's a good connection. Pay attention to the Apple Hardware Test advice in the links below. I see some of your hardware mentioned in the KP log but I am no expert on reading those logs

Here's a great site for Resolving Kernel Panics. Please do all the steps in order, even if you don't think you need to do a certain step.

Here's a great MacFixIt article.

 Good Luck!  DALE

• atomicluck1 Level 1 Level 1 (30 points)

Iv tried all the things that the lists say.  Trying to restart in 'safe mode', etc.  However, nothing works.  I either get the same restart message with the same screen 'Debugger called: <panic>.  It is either that screen or on start up a grey screen with the wheel spinning that does not stop.  Can't even get the MBP to restart to do anything else.

Do have a Genius appointment tomorrow.

Fortunately, I have a MBA an my primary.  

Will it run the Apple Hardware Test mentioned in the Resolving Kernel Panics link?

Here's the AHT link.

DALE

No.  I will not restart at all.  I get one of 2 responses:

1.  The same screen again with the restart message, over laid on the 'Debugger called:  <panic>.

2.  Or it attempts to restart, but the wheel spins endlessly.