Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Importing desired text question.

I'm new to applescript and I was wondering if anyone had tips on how to fix this problem with this script I was working on.

If im trying to write a command into terminal it looks something like this.

________________________________________________________________________________ ____________________________________________________

activate application "Terminal"

tell "Terminal"

do script "sudo defaults write /Library/Preferences/com.apple.loginwindow LoginwindowText 'Text inserted here'"

end tell

________________________________________________________________________________ ____________________________________________________

But what I need to know how to do is something along the lines of this

set desiredtextQ to display dialog "Please enter your desired text." default answer "Text Here" buttons {"Continue", "Cancel"}

set desiredtextA to text returned of desiredtextQ

activate application "Terminal"

tell "Terminal"

do script "sudo defaults write /Library/Preferences/com.apple.loginwindow LoginwindowText 'desiredtextA'"

end tell

So basicly all I'm trying to do is take the text returned of a question and import it into a scripted terminal command.

I would be thankful if anyone had any help to share with me.

MacBook Pro (15-inch Late 2008), Mac OS X (10.7.4), AppleScript

Posted on Oct 5, 2012 9:44 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Oct 5, 2012 10:38 AM

First off, avoid scripting Terminal.app. For most purposes, including this one, there is no need and you are far, far better off using AppleScript's do shell script, which can execute a shell command without needing to invoke Terminal.app.

Therefore, I'd rewrite your first script as:

do shell script "defaults write /Library/Preferences/com.apple.loginwindow LoginwindowText 'Text inserted here'" with administrator privileges