Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Hard Drive Capacity for Late 2011 Macbook Pro

I am interested in purchasing a Western Digital WD Scorpio Black 750 GB SATA 3 GB/s 7200 RPM 16 MB Cache Internal Bulk/OEM 2.5-Inch Mobile Hard Drive for my MacBook Pro. I've never looked inside one of these things and I'm not sure if I can do it or not. How much space does it have for a hard drive...can I add another one? Is RAM another addition that will increase performance? I'm looking to optimize my Macbook Pro for professional use of Logic Pro and ProTools in the future. I know audio, but I'm just learning the intricacies of computer hardware. I'm being very cautious that I understand everything I do because I don't want to screw anything up. Any advice is greatly appreciated!

MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.7.4), Late 2011; Intel Core i7; 2.4GHz;

Posted on Oct 6, 2012 12:24 AM

8 replies

Oct 6, 2012 12:34 AM in response to mgangirocks

Which model MBP do you have (for instance, 'late 2011')? Installing a new hard drive and RAM is a fairly simple process. I don't know anything about the hard drive you've selected but I do know that it will fit into your hard drive bay - the 750GB indicates the amount of storage. While you can use two hard drives, one in the hard drive bay and one in the optical bay, I wouldn't recommend it in your case. You also don't say how much RAM you have now - we'll need to know your model before we can recommend how much RAM you can install.

Please get back with your model - then someone will be able to tell you your options and how to go about installing your new drive.

Clinton

Oct 6, 2012 12:52 AM in response to clintonfrombirmingham

Processor 2.4 GHz Intel Core i7

Memory 4 GB 1333 MHz DDR3

** My Mac contains 2 memory slots, each of which accepts a 1333 MHz DDR3 memory module.

Graphics AMD Radeon HD 6770M 1024 MB

Software Mac OS X Lion 10.7.4 (11E53)

Serial-ATA:

Vendor: Intel