Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

confused between messaging on iPhone versus MacBook Air - they are different, right?

I am new to Apple products. I just purchased a MacBook Air and an iPhone 4. I am a registered iCloud user. I have been messaging amongst friends on my iPhone to their phones (not iPhones). The contact information is just their cell phone number. But when I try messaging on my MacBook Air, I get the message "Your message could not be sent. 3151234567 is not registered with iMessage." What...??? Is iMessage on a MacBook Air a different application than message is on an iPhone 4? Why? I thought would be the same and could be synchronized.... Am I missing something here...??? Help...

MacBook Air, OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.2)

Posted on Oct 12, 2012 6:46 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Oct 12, 2012 7:26 PM

No, you're not missing anything. Your phone can text to anybody. Your Mac can text to other iCloud capable macs or iPhones or iPads, but not to non-apple users. At least that's my understanding. So your texting will work when every human on the planet buys only apple devices. Hope this clarifies the situation.

14 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Oct 12, 2012 7:26 PM in response to crazylegsoz

No, you're not missing anything. Your phone can text to anybody. Your Mac can text to other iCloud capable macs or iPhones or iPads, but not to non-apple users. At least that's my understanding. So your texting will work when every human on the planet buys only apple devices. Hope this clarifies the situation.

Oct 14, 2012 1:59 PM in response to babowa

Hi,

Messages is the Mountain Lion version of iChat.

It is in fact iChat+

Historically iChat was an AIM Only App, recognising some Apple IDs issued by Apple as Valid Screen Names. (@mac.com at the time)

Later Jabber abilities were added (includes GoogleTalk and Facebook IDs)