Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Mail server issue on Mountain Lion

Hi all

I hope someone can help me out here as I am very new with Apple stuff

I have installed server tools on Mountain Lion and trying to get my mail server running and I had it running for a short period and received a couple of mails but then I did not receive more mails

I get these entries in the SMTP log when starting the Mail service:

Oct 14 05:53:09 otrimac.ontherun.dk postfix/postfix-script[88002]: fatal: the Postfix mail system is not running

Oct 14 05:53:20 otrimac.ontherun.dk postfix/postfix-script[88554]: warning: not owned by root: /etc/postfix/main.cf copy

Oct 14 05:53:20 otrimac.ontherun.dk postfix/postfix-script[88557]: warning: not owned by _postfix: /Library/Server/Mail/Data/mta/./guid_device_maps.plist

I have tried the following in Terminal

sudo chown root /etc/postfix/main.cf

sudo chown _postfix /library/server/mail/data/mta/./guid_device_maps.plist

I still get the same log entries when starting the mail service

Can anyone please give me a solution for this?

Cheers

Klaus

iMac, OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.2), OS X Server utilities

Posted on Oct 13, 2012 9:16 PM

9 replies

Oct 14, 2012 6:33 AM in response to Mark23

Have you upgraded mountain lion to 10.8.2 and server to 2.1.1?

Some while ago this hint helped me as well:

change:

smtpd_client_restrictions = hash:/etc/postfix/smtpdreject cidr:/etc/postfix/smtpdreject.cidr permit_mynetworks

to:

smtpd_client_restrictions = hash:/Library/Server/Mail/Config/postfix/smtpdreject cidr:/Library/Server/Mail/Config/postfix/smtpdreject.cidr permit_mynetworks

change:

alias_maps = hash:/etc/postfix/aliases

to:

alias_maps = hash:/Library/Server/Mail/Config/postfix/aliases

remove (because there's no such file):

virtual_alias_maps = $virtual_map

add:

virtual_alias_domains = hash:/Library/Server/Mail/Config/postfix/virtual_domains