Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How can I disable printer access on a managed account (guest/kids)?

Is there a way to disable printer use on a managed user account? I have created a limited user account for my kids to use. The problem is, sometimes they visit these websites that allow them to print their "works of art" and by doing so they use up a lot of my printer toner and paper. I don't want to have to turn off the printer and create a giant printer queue as the printer is a network printer shared among other computers. I rather just disable their printing capabilities. Deleting the printer from their user account also deleted it from my main (admin) account. I'm posting this in hopes someone out there knows how to do what I'm asking for. Thank you.

OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.2)

Posted on Oct 15, 2012 11:03 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Oct 16, 2012 3:30 PM

Hi,

I'm new to this topic too, but I think the answer may be through CUPS. It's installed by default with Mountain Lion, though you need to enable it before you can use it. After that, it seems it should let you manage user access.

I hope you don't mind if I let you investigate further yourself, because we're both coming at it as beginners anyway.

HTH.

2 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Oct 16, 2012 3:30 PM in response to LOLuMad

Hi,

I'm new to this topic too, but I think the answer may be through CUPS. It's installed by default with Mountain Lion, though you need to enable it before you can use it. After that, it seems it should let you manage user access.

I hope you don't mind if I let you investigate further yourself, because we're both coming at it as beginners anyway.

HTH.

Oct 16, 2012 5:50 PM in response to LOLuMad