Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Log & Transfer or Log & Capture?

At College we're using Final Cut Pro 7, I've never used it before, I've only used Final Cut Express 4.

They're very similar, so there's little more to learn (I used FCE4 for a while, until I moved to Premiere Pro; I understand Final Cut decently well), but FCE4 didn't have the Log & Capture option of FCP7, so I was using Log & Transfer.

About 2 weeks ago we set up a folder for ourselves on the computers, there's only one MiniDV tape per group, so only one person was able to import the video. Our technician told us how to set it up, but told us to use Log & Capture. I'm not sure if the person importing it pressed a button by accident, but it ended up in 1 file. I want to know if Log & Transfer will seperate each take, or if there's a button to seperate each take using Log & Capture...there's no way the College is going to get me to edit with a single file!

I will ask my teacher about this next time, but for now I'd like to know why it was just one file and if Log & Transfer will seperate them. I don't have FCP7 with me (Nor FCE4 either) so I can't test it. I'll probably be doing it tomorrow.

Final Cut Express 4-OTHER

Posted on Oct 18, 2012 10:15 AM

6 replies

Oct 18, 2012 10:39 AM in response to Siderz

Log and Capture is the tool to capture from TAPE.

Log and Transfer is the tool to capture from TAPELESS MEDIA, like P2, Compact Flash, SD cards.

Unless you log the tape first...break up the tape into chunks. This is something Final Cut Express didn't do. Final Cut Pro allows you to watch the tape, make in and out marks, make clips that you capture later. So you only capture what you want, and you can break the tape up by scene and take, or by subject matter. So you can log all the clips first, then Batch Capture. Look this up in the manual, it's all laid out.