Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Had 30gb of space left on my hard drive, imported a couple hours of clips, and now I have none.

Exactly what the title says. I placed several gigs worth of footage into FCP X, put them in the timeline, and then left my computer overnight. I wake up, and FCP alerts me that I've run out of space on my hard drive (I'm leaving out some details but it was along those lines). For the life of me, I can not figure out how to find out what has used up dozens of gigs of space and where the responsible files are located.

Does anyone know why this happened, how I can get my storage back, and how to prevent this from happening again (of possible at all)? I am completely new with this software, forgive me if it's incredibly obvious. I just did not expect that much hard drive space to be taken up.

Final Cut Pro X, Mac OS X (10.7.3)

Posted on Oct 20, 2012 4:41 PM

13 replies

Oct 20, 2012 4:55 PM in response to thisprogramisreallyterrible

Ahh, that's easy!

1: You import several GB of movies. What type?

2: You checked the Create optimized and/or Proxy media..!

Look in the Event folder for the imported event. Is there a Transcoded Media folder? I bet that is were your HD space has gone.. ;-)

And now, 'thisprogramisNOTreallyterrible'! The users might not know what they do, though... 😉

Oct 20, 2012 4:59 PM in response to thisprogramisreallyterrible

30G is very little space on anything but the smallest drives. For most drives a minimum of 10% is recommended. Two hours of video is a huge amount. It depends on the exact format specs, but in QuickTime, unless it's heavily compressed, it's going to take more space on that drive than is safe to use.

If you imported video the files are most likely in the Original Media folder. If you did effects or anything that required rendering, there will be render files most likely in the project folder.