Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Two Keyboards, two sounds, played *Live*?

I have two USB keyboards and would like to play, live, piano sound on one keyboard and upright bass sound on the other keyboard, using one hand on each. No recording, no sequencing. Only live. GarageBand instruments sound great, and GarageBand almost does what I want if I just don't hit the record button. The problem is that GarageBand (still) handles only 1 MIDI input. So either both keyboards sound like piano, or both keyboards sound like upright bass.

Will Logic Pro do what I want?

I don't really need a sequencer, though, and although I really appreciate the speed of my 2012 MacBook Air, with only 128 GB SSD memory, I don't want to install big apps that I don't need. Also, for $200 I maybe I should buy a hardware synth instead.

I'm an electrical engineer and a Mac developer but don't know that much about music synthesis yet. Are there any other apps or tricks I should consider?

Thank,

Jerry

MacBook Air (11-inch, Mid 2012)

Posted on Oct 22, 2012 3:55 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Oct 22, 2012 4:56 PM

Just to clarify a couple things… My two USB keyboards (Alesis Q25 and Q49) are MIDI controllers only. They do not have built in sounds. Also, will GarageBand for iPad handle two MIDI inputs? I've been collecting reasons to buy an iPad. Obviously, I could use GarageBand on the Mac for one keyboard/instrument and GarageBand on an iPad for the other keyboard/instrument, but that would be pretty kludgey.

6 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Oct 22, 2012 4:56 PM in response to Jerome Krinock