Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

A vote for the MBP Retina

For quite a few months I monitored these forums to see how the new retina MBP would go over. I do know that forums are usually the places were people with problems appear. Rarely do you get people showing up and saying everything is just great. So you need to take these forums with a grain of salt and use them to guide your decision making.

So I followed the heat thread, the burn-in thread and a number of others.

I'm a programmer by trade. I use VMWare Fusion every day and I often need tons of RAM. Flash disk is also almost required these days as I need to switch between things quite quickly. So when the retina MBP was introduced my drool production went up about a thousand fold! I've been working on the following models:

A 2008 MBP pro 17" with a core2duo, 4gb RAM and a 256gb drive

Sold that and got:

A 2010 MBP pro, high-res 15" display core i7 with 8gb of RAM.

In some ways the 2010 MBP was a dream machine. The 8gb of RAM made it possible for me to open 2-3 VMs under Fusion and the high-res display made up for the loss of the 2 inches of display real estate when stepping down from the 17".

The battery life on the 2010 sucked. I NEVER got more than a couple of hours out of it. I also noticed that even after a nice fresh clean Lion install with few programs and processes the processors worked hard. This machine got hot and burned through battery power like a million candle spot light. Still it was a great machine and I did millions of lines of code on that machine.