Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

RAW import and filters in Aperture - red faces

I've imported RAW pictures taken in bad light conditions (8 000 ISO or more) in Aperture. As a consequence I have some and the faces of people in pictures appear "red", due to the visible noise.

When I upload those picts directly to my iPad 2, it seems the picts are filtered and the faces are "normal", the red colour is reduced. Picts are nice.

When I upload those picts in Aperture, after having applied some filters for optimizing the RAW pict, I can not remove completly the red colour. I can not get the same result as I have on the iPad : picts seem to be better on my iPad (compared with what I can get on the Mac with Aperture).

I'm not an Aperture expert, but does anybody know what kind of filter (equivalent to Aperture presets) are applied on RAW picts when importing on the iPad ?

iPad 2, iOS 5.1

Posted on Oct 25, 2012 1:19 AM

4 replies

Oct 25, 2012 9:16 AM in response to FranckV75

When I upload those picts directly to my iPad 2,

How do you import to your iPad? Reading the card using the camera connection kit? Or uploading from your Mac?

The specifications of the camera connection kit say for the supported image file types

iPad and the Camera Connection Kit support standard photo formats, including JPEG and RAW, along with SD and HD video formats, including H.264 and MPEG-4.

but I doubt, that this means that the iPad does any raw processing at all. When I upload raw images from my Lumix FZ28 or FZ 50, I see beautiful photos on the iPad, but the iPad is only showing me the jpeg embedded in the raw, or the jpeg of the raw&jpeg pair.

Also, when I import single raw images (not raw + jpeg pairs), only the embedded thumbnail is displayed and has a very poor resolution.