Skip navigation

Time Machine 1.1 sometimes deletes backups that should keep

1457 Views 32 Replies Latest reply: Oct 28, 2013 6:36 PM by ejtrim RSS
  • Pondini Level 8 Level 8 (38,710 points)

    ejtrim wrote:

    . . .

    I had simply moved with the mouse on Finder several large directories into another just created directory.  I had understood that Time Machine made hardlinks on directories, and thus this simple movement should only cost a few bytes of hardlinks in my backup disk.

    No, if you copy, move, or rename a folder, it's treated as changed, and all its contents are backed-up again.  

     

    A hard link is made on the backup drive when a file or folder does not change at all from one backup to the next.

     

    If you know that's going to take a lot of space, you can delete all backups of the file in the old location or with the old name, per Time Machine - Frequently Asked Question #12. 

1 2 3 Previous Next

Actions

More Like This

  • Retrieving data ...

Bookmarked By (0)

Legend

  • This solved my question - 10 points
  • This helped me - 5 points
This site contains user submitted content, comments and opinions and is for informational purposes only. Apple disclaims any and all liability for the acts, omissions and conduct of any third parties in connection with or related to your use of the site. All postings and use of the content on this site are subject to the Apple Support Communities Terms of Use.