Newsroom Update

Beginning in May, a special Today at Apple series titled “Made for Business” will offer small business owners and entrepreneurs free opportunities to learn how Apple products and services can support their growth and success. Learn more >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

10.7.4 Login window accpets user credentials, flashes grey screen, then returns back to login window

Hello all,

I'm an IT administrator for a school district, and we've been having a long-running issue with our 10.7.4 MacBook Pros. Basically, when the students try to log in, it accpets their login credentials, spins for a second, flashes a grey screen like it's about to show their desktop, and then spits it back out to the login window with the username and password fields cleared.

I'm positive that their username/pass are correct because it will simply shake if entered incorrectly. For reference, the students are using mobile accounts (without syncing) through OD and it only happens if they already have a mobile account on the local machine. But it doesn't happen 100% of the time. I can't find the common denominator. Also, this issue has yet to rear it's head on our other 2 carts of laptops, which happen to be Air's rather than Pro's.

I've been working around this issue by logging in as admin (which I can still do) and deleting their mobile account through System Preferences. After that, they log in and everything's great.

I believe these are early 2011 MacBook Pros running 10.7.4.

If anyone has any idea at all, I would greatly appreciate the assistance. Let me know if you need more information.

MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.7.4)

Posted on Oct 29, 2012 11:58 AM

3 replies

Nov 1, 2012 8:08 AM in response to mjtill

This is from 10.7.5 list of fixes

Enforce managed preference based on a user's primary group

Check OD home directory

Check user homes on client machines