Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Mac Pro won't boot or chime after power surge

I have an eight-core 2,1 Mac Pro that is plugged into an UPS unit. Tonight the building I live in had a series of power surges that knocked out my UPS and Mac Pro. Once the power stabilized, I tried to turn the Mac back on without any luck. When I press the power button the computer's fan and hard drives start up and the graphics card's fan spin at high but the computer does not chime, the screens do not turn on, and the keyboard receives no power. The power light remains solid after I turn the computer on. I have tried unplugging the computer for a while, replacing the graphics card with another card, and going through the RAM pair by pair. Nothing seems to cause any different behavior. I have not been any issues with the computer before this. Please help with any ideas.

I do freelance production work for a living so this is a serious issue for me.

Thank you so much.

Posted on Oct 29, 2012 10:29 PM

5 replies

Oct 30, 2012 8:17 AM in response to Douglas Parker1

The chime is generated in software after the first part of the power-on self test has passed. If there is no chime, you go nowhere.

Conventional wisdom is to remove everything that could be dragging down the power and test to look for the chime:

remove the graphics card and all PCIe slot cards.

Remove ALL drives

remove most RAM, except for one pair.

Remove all external devices.

Reset PMU by removing AC power cord, pressing start button for 10 seconds to drain power capacitors, then restoring AC power cord, waiting a quarter minute then attempting to restart.

On older Macs, a PRAM backup battery (normally about 3 Volts) that was really low could cause problems in starting.

Oct 31, 2012 7:00 AM in response to Grant Bennet-Alder