Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

AppleScript auto-capitalization puzzle

Hello all -

I think the AppleScript Editor is trying to tell me something and I'm not quite sure what. I need your help, please. :-)

I have decent coding experience (as a hobby), but I'm rusty. I'm new to AppleScript and getting into it. I'm writing a few simple handlers and for at least one of them the AppleScript Editor accepts my "camel font" capitalization, e.g.:

on ParseIndReg(input)

end ParseIndReg

If I type in that last line as "end parseindreg", and compile the code, the AppleScript Editor picks up my capitalization from the first line and we're all good. But a few lines later in my code, I have another handler that isn't quite so obedient. I want to call it "parseIRF", and I type it that way in the "on" and "end" statements.

But every time I do that, and then compile the code, the editor makes it "parseirf". I can't get it to keep the capital "IRF" no matter how hard I press on the keys. 😝

If this was all just about how my code looks, I wouldn't really care (OK maybe a bit). But something in my brain tells me that the AppleScript Editor either recognizes that word, or doesn't recognize it, or something, and so it will decide the case, not me.

I wondered whether I was inadvertently using a reserved word (like "set" etc.) but I can't imagine that "parseirf" has some deeper meaning to the editor.

Should I just get a life and not worry about losing this battle of capitalization? Or is there a deeper meaning that I'm missing? Any thoughts or hints would be welcome. Thanks.

Automator-OTHER, OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.2)

Posted on Nov 2, 2012 8:10 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Nov 2, 2012 8:14 PM