Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

best way to refresh - restore a late 2008 Macbook Pro to factory settings.

I have a weary and semi sluggish Macbook Pro (late 2008) that I just reclaimed from my college bound son. It has 2 GB of ram and I know that I am going to up that to at least 4 GB. I am pretty sure that is the max RAM this model supports. If I am off there, please advise accordingly.

I am currently installing Mountain Lion via the Ap Store and once that is done, I will begin the process of making it as empty as possible of extra applications save for Pages ( iWork 2009 ) and one possible work related application. I intend to use this solely as a work machine. I am a professional mediator and provide most of my services pro bono. I share that here to make clear I am looking for the least expensive methods to do what I seek to do with this computer.

I hope that once I am done refreshing - restoring this machine, I will be able to utilize the Mirroring functionality of Mountain Lion and an Apple TV to have what I am typing on the computer to show up on the 47" HDTV in my conference room. This way, my clients can keep their focus on the screen and look for the items being typed and not (hopefully) pay attention to the many areas where they do not agree with the other party in the mediation.

OK, enough of the extras... lol