Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

no audio in iDVD when created by iMovie ??

Hello, I am new to iMovie and iDVD.

Following a manual's instructions, having made a DVD in iMovie, I commanded share>iDVD and waited 2 hours for iDVD to open with this project (which seems too long?), but the movie has no audio at all....

The original footage was MP4 from a Flip video camera.

Can anyone explain what is wrong and how to correct this? Thanks, Andy

iDVD '08, Mac OS X (10.5.8)

Posted on Nov 10, 2012 6:53 PM

3 replies

Nov 10, 2012 11:57 PM in response to captain kidd

Hi

There are several things to this

• Video Codec used - .mp4 is no specific video-codec but a Container (sort of folder) and can hold codecs iMovie can use or CAN NOT.

open the .mp4 file with QuickTime-Player - then

open Inspector [cmd+I] and read

- Video Codec/Format : nnnnnnnnnnnnn

- Frame Rate : YYYYYYYYYYYY

What does it say

• Then - How You go from iMovie to iDVD matters !

- I never use "Share to iDVD" as resulting DVD will lose lot's of quality

- I do - "Share to Media Browser" and as Large OR Medium (Never HD or other resolution as this too degrades the final DVD (downscaling is done badly)

- Large or Medium matters and sometimes Large result's to me in partial audio loss - so Medium is a safer resolution.

- I Always - Save as a DiskImage - Test this with DVD-player tool - then use Disk Util tool to burn it to DVD

I always

• set down burn speed to x4 or less = less burn errors = plays better and on more devices

• use High Quality DVDs - only Verbatim for me

• DVD-R - never DVD+/-RW or DVD+R - as the first usually don't work and the latter only on newer DVD-players

• SL-DVD - not DL-DVDs - my personal problem with my Macs inabillity to like these

Yours Bengt W

Nov 11, 2012 2:59 PM in response to Bengt Wärleby

Thanks Bengt,

In reply to you, when I

open the .mp4 file with QuickTime-Player - then