No. your current backups reference older backups of unchanged files, so if you delete these older backups, these files you haven't edited for a while will no longer be available to restore if needed. If you want to save space, you should completely erase your backups and re-backup your entire computer from scratch, so that everything is backed up.
If this is your "plan" then you shouldn't be using Time Machine. I would suggest you use a third-party utility such as:
Suggested Backup Software
2. Data Backup
3. Deja Vu
5. Synk Pro
Do not start manually deleting Time Machine backups or you might just as well have no backup. If you wish to continue using Time Machine then use the utility, TimeMachineEditor 3.0.1, to modify the backup frequency. If you are filling up your backup drive, then it is too small. Get a larger one that is at least twice the size of your MBA's drive capacity.